The First Day of the Rest of My Life

Well. Here it is. My first day of legal adulthood.

It’s a little strange to know that I’m no longer a child. Technically. Arbitrarily.

Far more significant, I think, is the fact that today there is one year exactly until I can go on a mission. That means I have 365 days to prepare to teach and to serve. In so many ways I feel inadequate, but I also feel excited and able. I know that I am not ready yet, but I am confident that I can be as long as I work hard.

I’m in the process of making a study calendar and some goals for the year. It’s going to be a busy but wonderful one!

The first birthday I’ve had without my family has been… pretty weird. I can’t even call my mom because she’s in Switzerland. I miss my family so much… it will be so nice to see them this Spring.

All in all, pretty quiet birthday. But in some ways, I like that. It gives me more time to reflect and think about what I want out of my adult life – and more importantly, what Heavenly Father wants for my life.

Share Your Thoughts

