Bats, Taco Bell, and the ER…

This was the craziest week to ever crazy.

First off, the mission president seminar closed down all of 1M due to apostles existing so our food has been eaten out of the gym. Breakfast is donuts :c and then lunch and dinner are fast food. WE GOT TACO BELL IN THE MTC. Crazy town. Also we can eat in our gym clothes which is weird? We also moved to 17M which is a brand new luxurious building all the sisters can fit in. It feels like New Heritage. It’s right across from our classroom and gym so it was WAY nice and literally twice the size of our old place. On Wednesday though, I saw this big round brown thing come out of the vent and down the wall. I thought it was a small rodent or the biggest spider I’d ever seen but we kind of just went to class and forgot and slept in the room.

And then, as you may have heard on the news it turned out bats were in the vent system!!!! So we had to report any sightings and I figured that’s probably what it was. They told us we had to get rabies shots…so we left the MTC and went to the ER, which was weird beyond weird…And we have to go back 3 more times. I don’t care though because Boyd Ax [Brother Boyd] said that Mongolia has a ridiculously high wild dog population and you basically have to keep a rock on you at all times to throw at them and if you get bitten there you get ELEVEN SHOTS IN THE STOMACH. So these are better than that.

Companions at the Temple

The cool thing though is that we had our first real life experience as missionaries in the outside world. When we were done we had to wait for the shuttle in the ER waiting room and there was a girl about our age crying in a hospital wheelchair and her mom sitting there holding her hand. Harmon Згч [“Harmon Egch”; e.g. Sister Harmon] started smiling and talking with her and she asked if we could share a scripture. We knelt in a circle around her and I said a prayer. I didn’t really know what was going on but clearly it wasn’t good, so I shared Ether 12:27 and bore my testimony in Spanish a tiny bit (she was from Argentina). Everyone else expressed their love too and I felt so much love for these sisters…

Ether 12:27

And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them.

To add to the crazy week we had transfers, so now I’m teaching with Harmon Згч and Elder Lamb instead. It’s tough because Hawkins Згч and I had such companionship unity and a teaching rhythmn down but I think it will be great to learn from them. Also it’s weird teaching with an Elder haha…

MTC District

Elder Nash spoke at devotional on the Plan of Salvation and it was amazing! I know we are all literal children of God and that he has a plan and purpose for us…our job is to pray daily to find out the things he would have us do while on this earth and study the scriptures to learn from them… Through the gospel we can someday live the life that God lives forever with Him. I love you all and I know these things to be true. Remember you are Heavenly Father’s son or daughter and so are the people you interact with, and so you should treat yourself and them as such…

Hang in there!!!

Until next week….
de Ruyter Згч

Share Your Thoughts

