A weird and wonderful week

Ashley said it's a family tradition to take a picture in front of this picture (I think this is the one?) because it's of her Uncle Greg I believe :)

Ashley said it’s a family tradition to take a picture in front of this picture (I think this is the one?) because it’s of her Uncle Greg I believe :)

I’ve had conversations and made friends in Spanish (lots!), Portuguese, and French here (As well as telling a poor elder who didn’t speak any English that ‘I like papaya milk.’ in Chinese – thank Sister Harmon) so for those of you who know about my mild obsession with linguistics, I’m kind of madly in love with this place.

District with flag

Delayed visa

That moment when they told you your visa is delayed.

Even though I’m excited to go to Mongolia, I’m at peace with waiting here for a while. I’m actually really excited to be able to study the scriptures more for myself for a few more days before I transition to doing it for other people more… I hope to come back here and teach because the atmosphere spiritually and culturally is so wonderful.

Waiting for Sister Hawkins to get her luggage : /

Waiting for Sister Hawkins to get her luggage : /

I finished the Book of Momron, which was a wonderful feeling, and decided to start the New Testament in an effort to get to know the Savior better. I have seen the influence of His Atonement in my life every day her and I’m so privileged to be able to spend this time getting to know him better.

Our first day with our new companion!!!!!

Our first day with our new companion!!!!!

The most amazing thing this week has been meeting my new companion, Soeur (Sister) Goudard!!!!!! She is so funny and sweet. She’s a brand new missionary this week going to the St. George visitor’s centre (look for her if you live near there!) and she’ll be preaching the gospel in French. Her mom is Swiss and her dad is French, she was born in France and then grew up in northern switzerland (Yverdon-les-Bains / Vevey). The last few years she has been living in Quebec. I made her a card that said “Bienvenue! Nous t’aimons!” and that’s about the extent of my French speaking abilities haha. It’s been hard because she speaks less English than I do Mongolian but it’s so lovely to hear her speak French and I can usually understand at least what she’s talking about if she speaks slowly. We play the pointing to objects and telling each other the word in our language game haha. I wish Sister Harmon were here though to help understand :) Yesterday we went to the French class which was way fun! We talked about Swiss Chocolate :) She is so strong and I admire her so much. I would be so scared if I had to go to the MTC in Mongolia!!!!!!

Just like we predicted at the temple, Sister Tao is finally my companion!!!!!

Just like we predicted at the temple, Sister Tao is finally my companion!!!!!

I’m also pretty excited about still being here because if we stay through Sunday we get to sing in a choir as back-up for National Tribute Band who are doing a concert here that night. We’ve been doing practice and the songs are so cool!!!! Go check them out!!! “John’s Song” “I Was Born” and “The Greatest Thing I Ever Loved to Do.” I LOVE MUSIC.

Our district 2

Our district pointing to Mongolia

Our district pointing to Mongolia

I love my district so much. This is the last Sunday together in which we all gave talks!!!! LONG meeting!!!! Haha I also got called up by President Bertasso to give a talk in front of everyone leaving the MTC (hundreds) at the departure meeting so that was kind of crazy.

My friend Sister Jaeran Lee!!!! I love her so much!!!!

My friend Sister Lee!!!! I love her so much!!!!

Sister Jaeran Lee is the Korean friend I talked about. She is from Pusan :) She said she loves missionaries who served in Korea because that’s why she is here :)

Hats

Sister Largin brought hats.

Hats 1

This one is a boy hat with a fox face on the top. Kind of scary and it smelt bad.

Hats 3

Hats 4

Should I buy one of these? :) I look cute, right?

Shagai

Shagai is a super fun game kind of like tiddlywinks that Mongolians play with sheep ankle bones.

This is us right before we left playing Shagai which is a super fun game kind of like tiddlywinks that Mongolians play with sheep ankle bones.

Us with Brother Villarreal from Cordoba who was our teacher who watched over us during study time.

This is us right before we left playing Shagai which is a super fun game kind of like tiddlywinks that Mongolians play with sheep ankle bones.

This is us right before we left playing Shagai.

Sister Tao is ridiculously good.

Sister Tao is ridiculously good.

Temple Trip

​We decided to all wear black and red on our last temple trip :)

Last temple trip 1

More people from our branch

More people from our branch

I'm bad at secretly taking candids

I’m bad at secretly taking candids

The MTC is PACKED. Wow. So many missionaries! Sister Tao and I are the only ones in class and the teachers have nothing planned for us, so we get to practice whatever we want with private tutors basically. Pretty neat.

I can pray completely in Mongolian Sign Language now, which is pretty fun and always makes Senior missionaries come talk to us when we pray in the cafeteria. I’ve actually met a lot of really nice people because of it.The sign language is so so beautiful and I really hope we get to use it somewhat. Regardless, I want to take ASL when I get home. Somehow I’m already faster at finger spelling in MSL than ASL. Weird.

I love you all so much! This may be the last email from the states for 18 months!!!!!

Share Your Thoughts

