A Great and Marvelous Work

Mongolian card 2 cropped

So this week has been full of amazing stuff so I’ll try to get it all in.

Mission

We had mission conference on Thursday with the area president of Asia and they set a goal to have FOUR STAKES here by 2019. There’s only one right now (with two districts) so each district should become a stake and then our stake should split. The Ulaanbaatar East district should become a stake this year which would be amazing to see…so we really need to work hard on helping our priesthood leaders stay active!!!!

Investigators

Unfortunately neither of our investigators came to church this week but they’re still progressing and two brand new people just showed up of their own accord! Which was pretty amazing.. one of them  I met in the BZ building (mission home/church) and she wanted to know about English discussion groups. WE told her we didn’t have a conversation only group but she should start one, and we told her about church and she came!!!!

TJ, the investigator I invited to be baptized is asking great questions and learning a lot. She’s already in 1 Nephi 2 and and understands the Book of Mormon so well. She always helps me with my mongolian because she speaks some english (she’s a doctor) and I love her because she’s the only person we meet with who actually talks to me instead of looking at my companion the whole time haha.

DZ is super quiet but we taught him the 3rd lesson and he seemed more interested than before. He’s 19 and so is the newmember who came to be our witness so I hope they get along.

We also have 3 really cute new members between 10 and 12. ES is the second oldest and he has a slider turtle. One day at the MTC I was feeling really sad so I learned words like turtle, sunflower, and elephant on the computer. I never thought I’d use them but I was able to make friends with him by asking a million questions about his turtle. Now he comes and hugs me every time I see him.

Yesterday we went to check on him and another new member was playing outside with him so we could teach! We sat on a railing and read a story from the friend about how God listens to children’s prayers. GO shared a story about how her eye was swollen and she thought maybe God was bad, but she went to church and she and ES got called to be pianists (they’re 9 and 11) and when she was learning a song she felt God’s love and knew he answered her prayers. Then we kneeled in the planter and said a prayer together and had a big group hug (with some of their nonmember friends who came up too). It was the best lesson ever.

selbe river

Area

Selbe is pretty much in the middle of the city so we don’t have gers. But I did finally get to meet somewhere other than the church. We had dinner with a member and she fed us this lamb stew and a cabbage salad. The salad was seriously delicious but I was having a hard time swallowing the stew. When she left the room, my companion and I switched because she can’t stand vegetables (Mongolians don’t’ grow up eating them) and we were really happy haha. I know I’ve gotta get better at eating meat though….

I got to make buuz at my sponsor’s house! You should have gotten a picture….. I emailed it from her phone. IT was pretty good.

English

We got a lot of help and a song based curriculum and now it’s going great andf they’re learning tons. One little girl, Enerel (charity) picks up like 342057290 words a day. It’s ridiculous.

Testimony

I definitely am experiencing the gift of tongues. Everytime I open my mouth I can just talk and when I finish I’m like….what? Where did that come from? IT’s really scary to raise my hand or start talking in a lesson but I can trust that when I feel prompted to say something, I’ll be able to say it.

I don’t have time to look these up but this was in my notes:

Alma 32:41-43

41 But if ye will nourish the word, yea, nourish the tree as it beginneth to grow, by your faith with great diligence, and with patience, looking forward to the fruit thereof, it shall take root; and behold it shall be a tree springing up unto everlasting life.

42 And because of your diligence and your faith and your patience with the word in nourishing it, that it may take root in you, behold, by and by ye shall pluck the fruit thereof, which is most precious, which is sweet above all that is sweet, and which is white above all that is white, yea, and pure above all that is pure; and ye shall feast upon this fruit even until ye are filled, that ye hunger not, neither shall ye thirst.

43 Then, my brethren, ye shall reap the rewards of your faith, and your diligence, and patience, and long-suffering, waiting for the tree to bring forth fruit unto you.

Luke 15:20 – Prodigal son

20 And he arose, and came to his father. But when he was yet a great way off, his father saw him, and had compassion, and ran, and fell on his neck, and kissed him.

I love imagining that this is how Heavenly Father feels.

Alma 29:9-10

9 I know that which the Lord hath commanded me, and I glory in it. I do not glory of myself, but I glory in that which the Lord hath commanded me; yea, and this is my glory, that perhaps I may be an instrument in the hands of God to bring some soul to repentance; and this is my joy.

10 And behold, when I see many of my brethren truly penitent, and coming to the Lord their God, then is my soul filled with joy; then do I remember what the Lord has done for me, yea, even that he hath heard my prayer; yea, then do I remember his merciful arm which he extended towards me.

I read Alma 36 yesterday and was reminded why I want to bring people the joy of the gospel :)

Companion

I’m getting a lot better at understanding her both language wise and emotionally. We’ve become pretty good friends even if she sometimes feels like a mom haha. She has such a strong testimony and is an amazing missionary and has a lot more confidence in me than I do. She pushes me a ton—I’m not allowed to read anything in English (except my scriptures in personal study) and I’ve taught half of pretty much every lesson since day one. Sister Woodland wrote in my journal before I left that the beginning of the mission was a lot like a rubber band being asked to do things and recoiling and then straightening out. It’s definitely like that with the language. I have mini panic attacks every time she asks me to do something new but when I try it I always can. I just need to learn to trust Heavenly Father more….1 Nephi 3:7 is still the best scripture for me to repeat to myself when things are hard.

7 And it came to pass that I, Nephi, said unto my father: I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth them.

I’m happy and found my groove here…it took a bit to get adjusted but now I’m so grateful that I get to be here. Seriously I basically get to

  • hang out with little kids and help improve their lives
  • help strengthen families and bring people joy
  • feel the spirit as I study

every day! Who wouldn’t love that?

Share Your Thoughts

