ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

I was a stranger—I think this is awesome!

IMG_0482.JPG

Well I forgot my study notes which were awesome, but oh well. Next week I guess.

IMG_0474

First off, I feel a lot, a lot better than I did last week. I realized I was making some mistakes which were dragging me down and I’m ready to hit the pavement again (or lack thereof).

IMG_0486.JPG

Conference was great. If you haven’t watched it all, do. Then make a list of all the invitations that were in there. This is the first year I’ve done that and I think the first step to heeding the prophet’s council is just identifying what it is.

IMG_0411.JPG

Here are some reasons it was a great week:

  1. I focused on exercising effectively, eating healthy and all the things I was physically able to do. I think feeling physically good is a lot more connected to emotionally than most people remember. It’s nice to just run and realize you are capable of doing hard things.
  2. I put all the things that reminded me of home in a bag and had Sister Kerby hide it somewhere in the apartment. I realized my mental escape hatch for bad feelings was thinking of home, which only made me want to go there more.
  3. I sang hymns. Out loud. It’s a great place for thoughts to go.
  4. We focused on just having one really good lesson a day. We made a goal that no matter what we’d find someone to teach. Even when there were complications and it had to be just members, it feels great to share your testimony.
  5. I talked to my Heavenly Father. I just talked to him in my head about a lot of things. I always felt peace. I saw a lot of miracles. We got to teach two MP age men we’d never taught before.
  6. I really searched for answers to my questions instead of just random interesting topics. I prepared really well for conference and I got more out of it than I ever have.
  7. I thought a lot about change in small steps and the Atonement. I’ve used it’s power and His love to change before and now is no exception. I know I can do this!

I’m still taking it day by day in trying to stay calm but I know it’s going to be okay. I love Mongolia. The wind and the sky and the sun are lifting my spirits a lot.

IMG_0444.JPG

President had me start working on two lists.

Gratitude

“And now, I ask, what great blessings has he bestowed on us? Can ye tell?” Alma 26:3

  1. I am sealed to people I love for eternity!
  2. I know the truth that will lead me back to my Father and eternal joy!
  3. I have the opportunity to be in Mongolia and serve and love God’s children here.
  4. I have been forgiven and changed through the Atonement of Christ.
  5. I have support from friends on the mission and at home.
  6. I got back into BYU!
  7. Even though the world is getting crazier and crazier, we have living prophets and apostles to keep us focused on the truth.

What lack I not

  1. Access to the temple in under 3 hours (at home.)
  2. Good dental care.
  3. An oven!
  4. A house free from mildew and mold.
  5. Education about food safety.
  6. Excellent education that teaches critical thinking skills.
  7. Religious freedom.
  8. Clean, sterile hospitals.
  9. A mother and a father
  10. Enough support from my parents that I never had to take care of younger siblings at age 9.

It was a good exercise and I’m going to keep adding to it. I encourage you to do the same!

Posters

Shanti made these for her apartment:

IMG_0420IMG_0419IMG_0421IMG_0422IMG_0423IMG_0424IMG_0425IMG_0426IMG_0427IMG_0428IMG_0429IMG_0430IMG_0431

Share Your Thoughts

